Cool Evenings and Chicken Tortilla Soup

This past week there has been a chill in the air that brought to mind some soup. It is something that I love to  make and eat when it is cold outside. There is nothing like walking into the house and smell something that has been cooking all day.

The first time I made this was a winter day in the very first bean pot I owned. A beautiful woman gave it to us, best thing I ever received. It helped make me want to figure out what I wanted to cook and for how long it needed to cook. I learned to skin and debone chicken, and all meat for that matter. What needed a bit of cooking before adding to the pot and what didn’t need it. All of it self taught. Some of those became some meals that were repeated. A little of this and a little of that and what wonderful memories they became.

Well back to the soup, its very simple and easy with a few extra special ingredients. Come evening bake some sliced corn tortillas and your set.
I prefer to remove the bones and skin the thighs that I use, I do chop up about half of one of the skin to add to the soup, I know sounds strange, but I do. You can cook this on the stove or a slow cooker its up to you. You may want to use breast this again is up to you, I prefer thighs. So here goes the recipe

Chicken Tortilla Soup
3 to 4 cups homemade chicken broth ( or a good brand of boxed)
2-4 chicken thighs ( skinned and remove bones, large chopped)
1/2 finely chopped onion
1 tbsp chili powder,
1/2 tbsp cumin
1 tsp oregano
1-2 chipotle in Adobe sauce ( depending on the heat you want, I do not go over 2)
I large can of Hominy ( does not matter the color, Yellow looks pretty, drained)
1 can of black beans (drained )
3-4 corn tortillas ( sliced thinly placed on baking sheet and sprayed with oil of choice, salt)
salt
garnish with, avocado, green onion, corn chips, lime juice

Dutch oven if not cooking in a slow cooker. Pour about 2 to 2 1/2 cups of chicken broth. Add chopped chicken whether it is breast or thigh does not matter. Either will not take long to cook. Add onion and chopped chipotle plus a little of the Adobe sauce. Add the spices and stir well. Pour in the hominy and the black beans. Add salt to taste. Cook on low for 6 hours or so. Add more broth should it need it. You do want a soup instead of a stew. Check salt when ready to serve. Preheat oven 350 bake the tortillas for about 15 minutes. Serve soup top with baked chips.
Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

