Mushroom Season, and getting caught up.

I know its been a while. To long actually. Need to have a alarm clock that says. ” Alright Barb its time to get back to work, and you know you want to share ???? with anyone and everyone. 

So here I am. Its been a slow season for mushrooms where I am at, Texas County, Missouri. Tried fishing for a little and did not get one that was a keeper. So no fish fry while camping. Now little by little have been adding some to my dehydrated mushrooms and eating a little.

One of my favorites is Deer Antler ( crown coral ). There are better mushrooms, but depending on the time of year, there are good ones and great ones. Did have some great ones, chicken of the woods, while camping, friend has worked up a camping area on his property, on the Piney River. Few people get invited I believe, so the place is prestine, just beautiful. Places to walk with no disturbances, which I took full advantage. We could hear the highway traffic occationally. But still was quiet enough that I could not get enough of being out there. Will take full advantage of being out there should we get invited again.

Got back home and it had been raining in just the right amount and it was cool enough, that off we go my little one and I to get the mushrooms we are hoping that are in the woods. Found quite a few that we did not recognise, left them, will figure them out at some other time. We did find the deer antlers that had decided to pop up. I was very happy to see them, it had been several years since I had found any. Or eaten any. So made patties and truly enjoyed them.

 There are two ways that I cook them, one I can give you the cups and all, the other well depends on how much of the mushroom you have that decides everything else. Well let me introduce you to one way to cook them.

Crown Coral ( Deer Antler) Mushroom Soup

1 1/2 cups Mushrooms

1 tblsn Butter

1 tblsn Olive Oil

1 cup Milk

1/2 package Ramen noodles or homemade noodles

Seasonings of choice. I like to use a combonation of salt, pepper, garlic and onion powder

In a pot, brown butter slightly and add olive oil. Stir to combine, add mushrooms. Saute till mushrooms seem to be cooked. Add milk, bring to a boil, add homemade or ramen noodles, cook until noodles are done. Sit down and enjoy.

The soup is so rich and tasty, all I needed was one of my tea biscuits on the side. oh, almost forgot, that is one serving in the soup, you could add a potato chopped up, and maybe a carrot for color, but wouldnt put in to much extra as you will lose the flavor of the mushroom.

Deer Antler Patties.

These are very simple to make and can be used for bread. Its going to be a trial and error type recipe. But you can figure it out I am sure of that. They are very good, I like to make sausage gravy and pouring on top, or even an over easy egg on top for breakfast. 

1 1/2 cup mushrooms chopped

Flour just enough to coat the mushrooms, plus a little extra 1/8 cup or so

1 egg

1/8 cup shortening melted

Just enough water to make a sloppy dough. You do not want it very wet. You want it to pretty much keep its shape when you spoon into your hot skillet, I like cast iron, but use what you have. 

If you get it to wet add enough flour to make it a scoopable dough, using the back of the spoon to get it to spread out.

Heat skillet spray with what ever type of spray oil you are used to using. Yes, you can use regular shortening or even oil, you will need to use very very little of it, to keep the patties from being greasy. 

If you have questions. Just contact me and I will try to help as best I can.

Leave a Reply

