Thinking Back

Its a beautiful November day, with wind and sun, no snow here in the middle of the month. Short sleeve shirt, thinking of putting on a pair of shorts. Might as well enjoy it since when winter finally hits its gonna be a bad one, according to the persimmon seed prediction. A spoon is not good, look for those snow shovels we may need them this winter. How true they are, I have no idea, but it is interesting that people will still look to see what is there, just to be prepared.

I’ve been thinking back when my children were small, and times were hard, how I would make them sweets and breads to enjoy. They would always have a smile on their faces when I was in the kitchen baking. Muffins and breads they loved. Oh, and cookies, cannot forget the cookies.

The breads I would make, not only to eat but to make the muffins that were their favorites. The place I worked at made these fantastic muffins, that customers loved and their main ingrediant was dried up bread. Of course the bread was made on a daily basis, in the evening it was chopped up and laid out to dry, stored in buckets should there actually be any left over. I learned to make them and many other specialties from the owners, who traveled around and found some of the most delectable recipes. A lot of them I still make and some I have forgotten and cannot find them any more, the recipes that is. This bread is one that I have made over the years and it has changed some but not a lot. It is a light wheat bread that can be made totaly white or change it to a rye type easily enough, I would add some caraway seeds to it. Or even sour dough, omit the yeast use your starter and adjust your liquids and thats it. Next will be the Day old Bread Muffins. 

I am going to try to get myself organized so that I can get this working like it should be. Thank you for your patience.

 So here goes, please enjoy it. It is a easy bread to make.

Simple Wheat Bread

3 cups of white, wheat, rye flour, you adjust to what you want, I start out with white

1 to 1 1/2 tsp of salt

2 packages of yeast

1 1/2 cups warm water ( mine is usually at 120 degrees, I do use a thermometer to take its temp)

1 1/2 tblsp of sugar, honey, brown sugar or sweetner of choice, not artificial.

2 tblsp of shortening, lard, bacon grease, oil, or olive oil your choice

1 cup of wheat flour

In the water disolve the yeast add sweetner of choice and stir to disolve. Allow to sit for about 10 minutes.

Measure flour(s) add salt and cut in the shortening, if oil stir till mixed well into the flour.

Make a well in center and add in yeast liquid, stir to combine. Place on floured surface and knead adding

enough flour to make it smooth and elastic. Spray or grease bowl place dough in and turn over. cover with 

a warm damp towel for about an hour or until it has doubled in size. Punch down, good time to get rid of all 

those agravating feeling. The Bread pans that I use are long and thin and this recipe makes two of the loaves.

So I divide the dough into two and shape it for the pans.


 Allow to rise again for about another hour, or until the size needed for the pans being used. 

Preheat oven to 400 degrees.

Place pan(s) in oven and bake until done, mine I only have to cook them for about 28 minutes. it can take as 

long as 40 minutes. So check your loaf and take out when it sounds hollow when tapped on top. It should be a 

beautiful brown color when you remove it from the oven.Remove from pan and allow to cool.

Leave a Reply

