Is Winter here…… 

Day old bread Muffins.

The days have been cold coming to this Thanksgiving. Makes it nice to have the oven going smelling something baking in there. It has been a long time that I have made these, my boys loved them when they were young. The resturant that I worked at always had the bread chopped in the evening ready to dry over night. The owners liked me and let me take some to make the kids their favorite thing to eat. I was young when I started working there as a dishwasher. As long as I was caught up with the dishes the owners wife would teach me how to make different things there in the kitchen. She would repeat anything that I did not have a handle on, in the end, I worked the whole resturant. They taught me well, considering it was my first job after having the kids. I was on call since I could  work the kitchen, dining room or the bar. Since this was a military base town every two weeks it went nuts in there. It was so sad when the owners sold the business, since their children would not take it over it was gone. I have to admit I quit after the new owner took over. The first thing she did was change the menu, I know she did not have the resturant very long, the old customers could not tolerate the changes which I understood.

Dried bread Muffins

2 cups dried bread cubes ( any type of bread, or store bought in bag)

1 cup flour

1 tblsp baking powder

1 tsp cinnamon or pumpkin pie seasoning should you want. (It is not needed. )

1 tsp salt

2 eggs 

1/2 cup of raisins, cranberries, or dried cherries ( not needed )

1/2 cup walnuts or pecans ( not needed )

1/3 monk fruit golden sugar or brown sugar

1 tsp mexican vanilla

1 cup milk

1 tblsp melted lard, shortening, or butter

Preheat oven to 350. Spray/ grease muffin tin, you will need to spray at least 9 muffins.

Mix bread, flour, baking powder, salt and if you want add cinnamon or pumpkin pie spice in one large bowl. Add dried fruit and nuts, this is not needed, but is a good change if you make them a lot.Stir the dry ingrediants till well combined.

In a seperate bowl, lightly stir eggs, add sugar, mexican vanilla and milk, stir till sugar is disolved. Add  melted lard, shortening or butter stir. Add wet ingrediants to dry, stir to combine, allow to sit at least 5 minutes allowing the bread cubes to absorb the liquids. Should the breads cubes feel still to dry, allow to sit for another 5 minutes. Stir prior to scooping into muffin pan. Add more liquid should the bread cubes still be to dry.


I use the same spoon I used to stir the ingrediants to fill the muffing pan. I get 9 muffins when I make these, without the dried fruit and/ or the nuts. Bake these jewels for 15 to 20 minutes. I have never had them stick to the pan and I hope it doesnt happen to you. I always have to cut one open dab it with butter, and enjoy with either a cup of coffee or tea. Always good warm.

The picture below is with out the dried fruit or nuts, just the minimum ingredients and the pumpkin spice mix that I make.

I am hoping that you enjoy these. I know there has been a recipe like this around for at least the last 40 years.

Leave a Reply

